Twenty one South Dakota counties conducting sobriety checkpoints in April

April 1, 2022

PIERRE, S.D. – April’s list of statewide sobriety checkpoints has been announced by the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.

The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people not to drink and drive. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Officials have scheduled 21 checkpoints in 16 different counties.

Checkpoints are planned for the counties of: Bennett, Brown, Butte, Charles Mix, Codington, Davison, Hughes, Jerauld, Lawrence, Lincoln, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, Stanley, and Walworth.