Three members of Governor Tim Walz’s cabinet quitting

November 17, 2022

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Three commissioners at the center of controversy in Governor Tim Walz’s administration will not be in his cabinet during his second term in office.

Health Commissioner Jan Malcolm did not seek re-appointment, after heading the state’s response to the Covid pandemic and becoming a target for Republican criticism of lockdowns and other restrictions.

Public Safety Commissioner John Harrington, who directed law enforcement response during the riots following George Floyd’s murder, is also leaving. He’s been the focus of repeated criticism from Republicans.

Education Commissioner Heather Mueller is also leaving the Walz cabinet. Mueller’s department has been the target of Republican criticism over its response to fraud at the “Feeding Our Future” program.