South Dakota’s official snowplow this winter named in memory of Watertown’s Dale Jones

January 24, 2022

PIERRE, S.D.–Governor Kristi Noem kicked off the South Dakota Department of Transportation Snowplow Naming contest by naming the state’s official 2021-2022 snowplow ‘Dale’ in honor of late-tow truck driver Dale Jones of Watertown, who was tragically killed two years ago on the job.

“Dale’s legacy is a tribute to all snowplow operators, tow truck drivers, law enforcement officials, and others who work long hours, in tough winter weather conditions, to keep the traveling public safe throughout our state,” said Governor Noem.

The South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT) rolled out the 2nd Annual Name the Snowplow Contest in November. The contest was designed to engage people across the state with the SDDOT in a fun way while providing safety information to assist the traveling public during winter weather.

2021-2022 Snowplows Named within each SDDOT Area:

Aberdeen Area: Blizzard of Oz by Jessica Wimer

Belle Fourche Area: Mr. Snow Jangles by Toni Brumbaugh

Custer Area: Snow Squatch by Karen Simon

Huron Area: Termiblader by Highmore-Harrold Elementary – 1st Grade Class

Mitchell Area: Highway Hero by Melissa Davis

Mobridge Area: Drift Dominator by Brandee Fjeldheim

Pierre Area: Snow Problemo by Mercy Howard

Rapid City Area: West River Shiver by Ann Eads

Sioux Falls Area: Quick Thaw McGraw by Linda Nassar

Watertown Area: Control/Salt/Delete by Russell Family

Winner Area: Plow Patrol by Caysen Newbold

Yankton Area: Thank Me Blader by Liz Franko