South Dakota’s July sobriety checkpoint locations announced

July 7, 2022


PIERRE, S.D.–South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety has announced the list of sobriety checkpoints planned statewide for the month of July.


The 15 sobriety checkpoints will be held in 14 different counties. The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive.


July checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Beadle, Bennett, Brookings, Campbell, Charles Mix, Fall River, Jackson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, Stanley and Yankton.


Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.