South Dakota Republican Party selects candidates for November elections  (Audio)

June 26, 2022

Mike Tanner

WATERTOWN, S.D.–The slate of Republican  Party candidates for the November general elections are set following the party’s weekend convention at the Watertown Event Center.

Monae Johnson was selected by delegates to be the party’s candidate for Secretary of State. She bested incumbent Secretary Steve Barnett Saturday.

Delegates chose Marty Jackley as their candidate for attorney general over challenger David Natvig of the South Dakota Division of Criminal Investigation. Jackley is a former Attorney General and former U.S. Attorney for South Dakota.

Larry Rhoden survived a challenge from Steve Haugaard to win the nomination to run for another term as Lieutenant Governor. Haugaard is a State Representative who lost the Republican Primary to Governor Kristi Noem earlier this month.

Four other Republican candidates ran unopposed for their nominations, including Chris Nelson for Public Service Commissioner, Brock Greenfield for Commissioner of School and Public Lands, Josh Haeder for State Treasurer and Rich Sattgast for State Auditor.

The nomination speeches of the candidates are posted below:

Public Service Commissioner Chris Nelson..

Brock Greenfield for Commissioner of School and Public Lands…

Josh Haeder for State Treasurer….

Rich Sattgast for State Auditor….

David Natvig for Attorney General…

Marty Jackley for Attorney General….

Monae Johnson for Secretary of State….

Steve Barnett for Secretary of State…

Steve Haugaard for Lieutenant Governor…

Larry Rhoden for Lieutenant Governor…

The general election is being held on Tuesday November 8th.