South Dakota Democrats choose new party leaders

February 27, 2023

OACOMA, S.D.–The South Dakota Democrat Party’s State Central Committee met over the weekend in Oacoma to select their party leaders for the next four years.

Jennifer Slaight-Hansen was named party chairwoman. She’s an Aberdeen native who’s a former staff member for Congresswoman Stephanie Herseth-Sandlin.

She’s been the vice chair of the party for the last year, and defeated John Cunningham for the chairmanship by receiving 93 percent of the vote from delegates.

Shane Merrill of Parker won the vice chairmanship. He’s a farmer from the Parker area, and defeated Sioux Falls native Craig Brown for that position.

The newly elected officers begin their positions on May 1st.