Peters, Jurrens, Rossman win Election Day races in Watertown (Audio)

June 20, 2023

Mike Tanner

WATERTOWN, S.D.–Watertown voters elected two new members to the city council Tuesday night.

In Ward B, Kyle Peterson won a three-way race over former councilman Jason Redemske and incumbent Councilman Colin Paulsen. Peters finished with 361 votes. Redemske had 146. Paulsen was third with 105.

Peters is the son-in-law of South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem.

In Ward E, Lynn Jurrens defeated Jason Buechler 276-207.

Both Peters and Jurrens will serve four-year terms.

In the Watertown School Board race, Roshal Rossman won a three-year term with 973 votes. Michelle Schutte was the runner up with 734 votes. Lona Simon was third with 172 votes.

KWAT News caught up with Councilman-elect Kyle Peters, and asked him for his his reaction when he found out he’d won.. His comments can be heard by clicking below: