Noem orders state government office closures in South Dakota due to weather

April 5, 2023

PIERRE, S.D.–Governor Kristi Noem has ordered state government executive branch offices in certain counties remain closed on Wednesday, April 5, because of the winter storm with blizzard conditions in South Dakota. State offices will reopen in other counties.

State offices will be closed all day Wednesday in the following counties: Beadle, Bennett, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Campbell, Corson, Day, Dewey, Edmonds, Faulk, Grant, Haakon, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Lyman, Marshall, McPherson, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Potter, Roberts, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Walworth, and Ziebach.

While executive branch offices in these counties will be closed, state employees will be working remotely.

State offices will reopen Wednesday in the following counties: Butte, Clark, Custer, Fall River, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins, and Tripp.