New law enforcement task force formed in northeastern South Dakota

November 20, 2023

SISSETON, S.D.–Last week, a task force was formed for agencies in several jurisdictions in northeastern South Dakota to assist each other with drug and criminal enforcement efforts.

The Northeast South Dakota Multi-Jurisdictional Criminal Enforcement Team is comprised of members from sheriff’s departments in Roberts, Spink, Brown, Marshall and Day counties and the Sisseton Police Department.

According to the Roberts County Sheriff’s Office, on November 16th, the team conducted its first operation in Roberts County, where seven individuals were arrested in a three-hour span.

Officers encountered marijuana and fentanyl use and possession, three fugitives were apprehended, with one having been on the run since 2021, and two were arrested for DUI.