Gov. Noem Declares Disaster for Counties Impacted by Spring Flooding

June 5, 2023

PIERRE, S.D.–South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem signed a disaster declaration for damage left behind by spring flooding.

The declaration includes 10 counties, Brown, Clark, Codington, Day, Faulk, Grant, Hand, Marshall, Potter, and Roberts, as well as the Lake Traverse Indian Reservation.

Officials say above-normal snowfall, deep spring snow pack, and a surge in temperatures caused the flooding problems between April 9th and May 15th.

According to the Governor’s office, the flooding caused more than $2 million in damage. The executive order is part of a Presidential Disaster Declaration request.