Board of Regents to consider expansion of South Dakota Advantage program

December 11, 2023

The South Dakota Board of Regents will consider an expansion to its South Dakota Advantage program next week that would grant resident tuition rates to three other states.

If the regents approve the measure, students from Minnesota, Kansas and Missouri will be able to attend South Dakota’s six public universities at the same cost as South Dakota residents.

The South Dakota Advantage program, which began in fall 2019, granted in-state tuition rates for Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Wyoming, Montana and Colorado residents. Illinois and Wisconsin were added to the list this year.