Ballot nearly set for Watertown’s June 15th elections

May 8, 2021

Mike Tanner

WATERTOWN, S.D.–Some last minute movement Friday has put Watertown’s June 15th elections into focus.

City Councilman and former State Senator Ried Holien was a late entry into the mayor’s race, where he’ll face incumbent Mayor Sarah Caron. Two other candidates who had earlier announced for mayor, Adam Lalim and Colin Paulsen, both withdrew from the race.

In the city council races, former councilman Mike Danforth is unopposed in Ward A. 

Jason Redemske is running for re-election in Ward B. Paulsen announced in a social media post that he was pivoting to run for a council seat in Ward B, but his petition signatures had not been validated as of 5 pm Friday, so he’s not yet an official candidate. 

The Ward C council race will be between incumbent Michael Heuer and Dan Schutte.

Incumbent Bruce Buhler is running unopposed in Ward D, and the same holds true for incumbent Glen Vilhauer in Ward E.

The race for the at-large seat on the council will be between Councilman Josh Weyh and former councilman Randy Tupper.

Watertown moves to a city manager-led form of government July 1st. Newly-hired City Manager Amanda Mack will run the day-to-day operations of the city, with the mayor taking on a part-time, reduced role, and a salary that’s being cut by more than 50 percent to $36,000 a year. 

The Watertown City Council will be downsized from its current 10 members to six.