Twenty West River Sheriffs Endorse Governor Noem for Re-Election

February 8, 2022

Pierre, SD – Twenty South Dakota County Sheriffs from the “West River” region of the state have endorsed Governor Kristi Noem for re-election.

The West River sheriffs are the first round of endorsements from law enforcement that Governor Kristi Noem’s campaign has released with more to come throughout the year.

Governor Noem stated the following in announcing these endorsements: “I’m honored to receive these endorsements today. Throughout this state, sheriffs are on the front lines in the constant battle to maintain law and order for our local communities. Safety for its citizens is a fundamental responsibility of government. I’m grateful for the confidence the West River Sheriffs have in my administration and look forward to working with them on the many challenges we face every day to ensure our communities are safe.”

Here is the list of West River Sheriffs endorsing Governor Noem, in alphabetical order by County:

Bennett County Sheriff Paul Williams
Butte County Sheriff Fred Lamphere
Corson County Sheriff Alan Dale
Custer County Sheriff Marty Mechaley
Dewey County Sheriff Dan Assman
Fall River County Sheriff Robert Evans
Gregory County Sheriff Timothy Drey
Haakon County Sheriff Fred Koester
Harding County Sheriff Wyatt Sabo
Jackson County Sheriff Matt Haugen
Jones County Sheriff Rich Sylva
Lawrence County Sheriff Brian Dean
Lyman County Sheriff Steve Manger
Meade County Sheriff Ron Merwin
Pennington County Sheriff Kevin Thom
Perkins County Sheriff Kelly Serr
Stanley County Sheriff Brad Rathbun
Todd County Sheriff Barry Bailey
Tripp County Sheriff Shawn Pettit
Ziebach County Sheriff Gary Cudmore