SDHP releases sobrity checkpoint details for January

January 3, 2024

PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota Department of Public Safety has announced 16 sobriety checkpoints will be conducted in 15 different counties during the month of January.

These checkpoints will take place in the counties of Aurora, Codington, Edmunds, Fall River, Jackson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lyman, Marshall, Meade, Minnehaha, Moody, Pennington, Sanborn, and Yankton.

The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive. They’re funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.