North Star Athletic Association bringing more conference championships to Watertown

June 1, 2021

WATERTOWN, S.D.–The Watertown Convention and Visitors Bureau is pleased to announce that The North Star Athletic Association (NSAA) will host the NSAA Division Softball Championship to Watertown in May of 2022, adding the NSAA Division Golf Championship in May of 2023.

It will be the first time that the NSAA has held its Softball Championship games in Watertown, however, Watertown has been the host city for NSAA Men’s and Women’s basketball in 2019 and 2020, as well as Women’s Volleyball in 2019.

NSAA Commissioner Roger Ternes reported that the coaching staff and athletic directors of the NSAA Divisions Colleges and Universities had voted unanimously to move the NSAA Softball and Golf Championships to Watertown. Ternes added, “The move was encouraged for several reasons, but the geographic location and neutrality of Watertown in addition to the hospitality provided by the Watertown community, and the “top shelf” athletic facilities sealed the deal.”

“Watertown’s relationship with the NSAA began a few years back when it was chosen to host the NSAA’s Annual Spring Summit simply due to geography,” said former NSAA Commissioner Cory Anderson. “Having held meetings in other surrounding communities, Watertown’s hospitality had exceeded any that the schools had experienced.”

“We are thrilled to host softball and golf in 2022 and 2023 respectively. In the meantime, we are gearing up for the NSAA Volleyball Super Six this November, NSAA Men’s and Women’s Final Four Championship in February 2022,” said Julie Knutson, Executive Director of the Watertown Convention & Visitors Bureau. “ The impact of these events far exceeds economics. During their time in Watertown, the college athletes also take time to visit our local schools, sharing the message of character, integrity, goals, and teamwork. The NSAA is a great fit for Watertown and that is key to a successful event,” said Knutson.

The members of the NSAA Conference are Bellevue University, Dakota State University, Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Presentation College, Valley City State University, Viterbo University, and Waldorf University. All of the championships played in Watertown are qualifiers for the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletes) national league title.