Gov. Noem closes some state government offices due to winter storm

February 22, 2023

PIERRE, S.D.–Gov. Kristi Noem has ordered all state government executive branch offices in certain counties to be closed today (Wednesday) because of the winter storms in South Dakota.

State offices are closed in the counties of: Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Buffalo, Campbell, Clark, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Potter, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, Turner, Walworth.

While executive branch offices in these counties will be closed, state employees will be working remotely.

Much of the Eastern part of the state is in a blizzard warning from 6am today until noon Thursday.

Snowfall of up to 18 inches is expected across the state.  Winds will pick up today, and on Thursday, temperatures are expected to drop to around -20°.