Fifteen South Dakota counties will hold sobriety checkpoints in January

January 4, 2022

PIERRE, S.D.–A new year means another year of sobriety checkpoints held in South Dakota as a way to discourage people from drinking and driving.

The monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

There are 15 sobriety checkpoints planned in different counties statewide during January. The counties are: Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Butte, Charles Mix, Codington, Davison, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Spink, Walworth and Yankton.