WST: Champions crowned at region wrestling tournament

Photo: Getty Images

Brent Nathaniel

GROTON, S.D. ( — Redfield would claim the Region 1B team title Saturday with a team score of 263.0.

The Pheasants would take home seven individual titles and five second-place finishes.

Locally, Kingsbury County placed second as a team with a score of 136. The Knights would take home four second-place finishes including Dylan Zell (126), Alec Dobson (138), Matthew Steffensen (145), and Kain Gilligan (220).

Clark/Willow Lake took home third with a team score of 127.5. Gunnar Kvstad (120), Lucas Kannegieter (170), and Gage Burke (182) would take home individual titles.

Individual titles would go to Cael Larson of Webster (132), and Russell Sheets of Sioux Valley (152). Second-place finishes would also go to Holden Hawkins of Sisseton (106), and Seth Heidenreich of Sioux Valley (160).

Pierre would take home the Region 3A title Saturday with a 249. Milbank would take home a sixth-place finish with a team score of 123.0. Toby Schneck would take home the 195-pound title. Third-place finishes would go to Brayden Christensen (132), Barrett Schneck (152), and Leyton Raffety (170),

The Class A and B State Wrestling Tournaments will be held February 25th through the 27th at the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center in Rapid City.

Region 1B Results
Region 3A Results