Winner, Pierre, Tea & Brandon Valley earn titles

Brent Nathaniel

VERMILLION, S.D. ( — In a game that came down to the final play, the Winner Warriors claimed the Class 11B title Friday afternoon 18-14 over Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan.

Joe Robbie MVP Riley Orel would lead the way for the Warriors on the ground with 101 yards on 20 carries and one touchdown. Sam Kruger would carry the ball 10 times for 48 yards and picked up the Outstanding Back Award. Brady Fritz would also contribute 35 yards on 11 carries and a touchdown.

For BEE, Kaden Klumb would go 9 of 16 for 55 yards and was picked once. Klumb would also carry the rock nine times for five-yards and one TD. Bodie Burnham would have 61 yards on 14 carries and one touchdown.

In the final game of Friday, Pierre would make it a four-peat as they downed Brookings 38-6 for the Class 11AA championship.

Lincoln Kienholz would earn the Joe Robbie MVP award by going 10 of 19 through the air for 151 yards and three touchdowns for the Governers. Kienholz would also add a rushing touchdown on 10 carries for six yards. Regan Bollweg would haul in two receptions for two touchdowns on the night. Jack Merkwan was also targeted four times for 64 yards and a TD. Maguire Raske carried the ball 28 times for 164 yards and a TD and earned the Outstanding Back Award.

The Bobcats Josh Buri rushed for 122 yards on 16 carries and landed the only Brookings touchdown of the night. Keegan Fields added 31 yards on seven carries.

On Saturday, Tea Area ran away with the 11A championship over Canton, 35-16.

Kaden Johnson lead the way on the ground for the Titans with 128 yards and one touchdown. Austin Lake accumulated 116 yards on eight carries and two touchdowns and earned Oustanding Back honors and the Joe Robbie MVP. Lake also went seven of 10 through the air for 142 yards and two TD’s.

The C-Hawks were lead by Seth Peterson who threw for 96 yards and one touchdown and ran for 22 more and a TD.

In the final game of the weekend, Brandon Valley earned their second title in three years wit ha 35-14 win over Harrisburg for the 11AAA Championship.

Tate Johnson lead the Lynx with 225 yards on the ground and two scores. Joe Kolbeck was named the Joe Robbie MVP for his 11 carries for 143 yards and two TD’s on the ground and 45 yards through the air and one score.

For the Tigers, Jacob Knuth would go 29 of 42 for 301 yards through the air. Knuth would also score one rushing touchdown. Jack Teigen would rush for 12 yards and the other Tiger TD.