Watertown Workforce Advisory Council Announces 2022 Excellence in Manufacturing Awards

October 7, 2022

WATERTOWN, S.D.– The Watertown Workforce Advisory council kicked off South Dakota’s Manufacturing Week by announcing the winners of the first Excellence in Manufacturing Awards to manufacturing employees in seven categories for outstanding work in their field. Those categories included machine operators, material handlers, painters and prep, production support, welders, working leads and supervisors, and all other production roles.

Nominated by fellow peers and selected by members of the Manufacturing Week Committee, the 2022 award recipients are: Brandon Saeger from Macksteel Warehouse, Shawn Bradberry from Terex Utilities, Neil Warne from ESCO Manufacturing, Jeremy Raap from Terex Utilities, David Veflin from Terex Utilities, Al Young from Benchmark Foam, and Ian Madsen from Terex Utilities.

In addition to a certificate of recognition, each recipient was awarded $100 in Chamber Bucks and entered into a drawing for the grand prize. Ian Madsen from Terex Utilities was the proud winner of The Kettle, a smokeless fire pit manufactured and donated by Macksteel.

“We want to recognize all manufacturing employees and thank them for the work that they do to keep our economy growing,” said Michelle Kakacek, Executive Director of the Watertown Development Company. “Congratulations to the award winners, whose efforts every day represent a commitment to excellence by both the employees and the employers they represent.”

South Dakota Manufacturing Week begins the week prior to the first Friday in October. This week-long celebration aims to honor the contributions of the manufacturing sector by recognizing and sharing information about the work and achievements the sector has done in the last year and its impact on South Dakota’s economy.