INDIANAPOLIS, I.N. ( – Former South Dakota State University standout and National Football League career scoring leader Adam Vinatieri was named Tuesday as one of six recipients of the 2020 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award in recognition of their collegiate and professional achievements.

Vinatieri set five school records (all since broken), including placekicking career marks for field goals (27), points after touchdown (104), points by a kicker (185) and longest field goal (51 yards), as well as the single-season record in average yards per punt (43.5) from 1991-94. A Rapid City native, he was a three-time all-North Central Conference selection and earned NCAA Division II All-America honors in 1994.

In 1996, Vinatieri signed with the New England Patriots and is currently in his 24th season in the NFL. He won three Super Bowls with the Patriots, including kicking the game-winning field goal in two of those contests, before moving on to Indianapolis after the 2005 season. He added another Super Bowl championship with the Colts during the 2006 season.

A three-time All-Pro selection, Vinatieri holds NFL career postseason records of 56 field goals and 238 points. He became the league’s all-time scoring leader during the 2018 season and also holds NFL career records for field goals and 100-point seasons.

Off the gridiron, has been an active supporter of the Arthritis Foundation, working with children and their families on fundraising efforts and providing scholarships to camps. In 2017, he was awarded the Sagamore of the Wabash – one of Indiana’s highest honors – in recognition of his work in the community and on the football field.

Joining Vinatieri as 2020 recipients of the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award are:
Carla Ainsworth, swimming and diving, Kenyon;
Stewart Cink, golf, Georgia Tech;
Darren Eales, soccer, Brown;
Rebecca Lobo, basketball, Connecticut, and
Jenny Thompson, swimming and diving, Stanford.

The Silver Anniversary Award annually recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their collegiate athletics careers. Representatives of NCAA member schools and conferences, along with a panel of former student-athletes, select each year’s recipients.

The NCAA will recognize the honorees at the Honors Celebration during the 2020 NCAA Convention on Jan. 22 in Anaheim, California.


(PHOTO: SDSU Sports Information)