KEARNEY, Neb. ( — South Dakota State University wrestlers Danny Vega and Spencer Trenary each won individual titles Saturday at the Younes Hospitality Open at the Buffalo County Fairgrounds.

Vega, a junior from Tucson, Arizona, won the 125-pound title in the Elite Division by posting a 3-0 record on the day. He won by fall over Patrick Allis of Western State (Colo.) in his first match of the day, followed by a 22-10 major decision over Collin Metzger of Colorado Mesa in the semifinals. In the title bout, Vega scored a 5-3 decision over Emmanuel Browne of Baker University.

Also in the Elite Division, Tanner Cook placed third at 165 pounds with a 3-1 record on the day. He closed out the tournament with a pair of pins, including a first-period fall over Nebraska’s Jake Silverstein in the third-place bout.

Trenary, a freshman heavyweight from Rolfe, Iowa, claimed his title in the Amateur Division by notching four pins in his five matches. Trenary won by fall over a pair of Wyoming wrestlers, Brooks Baker and Terren Swartz, in the semifinals and finals, respectively. The pin of Swartz in the championship match came in 44 seconds.

Also advancing to the finals in the Amateur Division were fellow Jackrabbit freshmen Skyler Noftsger in the 174-pound weight class and 184-pounder Caleb Orris. Noftsger won his first three matches by a combined 28-7 to advance to the finals, but lost a 10-4 decision to Levi Farris of Colorado Mines in the championship.

Orris reeled off four straight wins, including two by fall, to reach the title bout. His tournament run came to an end with a 5-2 loss to Joseph Reimers of host Nebraska-Kearney.

Also placing for the Jackrabbits was freshman Caleb Gross, third in the 141-pound Amateur Division. Teammate Caden Lamer also turned in a strong showing with a 4-2 record at 141 pounds, but did not place in the top six.

With more than 600 wrestlers between the two divisions, the Younes Hospitality Open is the largest collegiate wrestling tournament in the country.

South Dakota State will send a contingent of wrestlers to the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational Dec. 6-7.