State government offices closed Wednesday in all but 11 South Dakota counties

December 14, 2022

PIERRE, S.D.–Gov. Kristi Noem ordered all state government executive branch offices statewide, except in 11 southeast counties, to be closed today because of the winter storm that continues to impact the majority of the state.

State offices will be open for normal business hours in Bon Homme, Clay, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner, Union and Yankton Counties. Officials say weather and travel conditions are not as severe in those counties as they are elsewhere.

Officials continue to closely monitor the storm which features heavy snow, freezing rain, and high winds. A decision on state government office availability for Thursday will be made today.