South Dakota Legislature approves new redistricting map  (Audio)

November 11, 2021

PIERRE, S.D.–After two and a half days of negotiations the South Dakota Legislature has approved a new legislative district map. Senator Mary Duvall of Pierre chaired the Senate

Redistricting Committee and thanked all of the Senators that helped along the way…

Senator Troy Heinert of Mission served on the Redistricting Committee…

The Senate passed the map on a 30-2 vote. The House passed it by a 37 to 31 margin. The bill now moves on for a signature from Governor Kristi Noem.

The new districts become effective for the 2022 election.