South Dakota Highway Patrol graduates next class of troopers on Friday

April 8, 2021

PIERRE, S.D. – Class 64, the newest group of South Dakota Highway Patrol trooper recruits, graduates Friday morning in Pierre.

Graduation for the 11-member class starts at 10 a.m., Friday in the Capitol Rotunda. South Dakota Supreme Court Chief Justice Stephen Jensen is the keynote speaker. The ceremony will be livestreamed on the Highway Patrol’s Facebook page.

“This ceremony completes almost a one-year process that started with the recruits applying for the Highway Patrol, being accepted and then going through the classroom and field training,” said Col. Rick Miller, superintendent of the South Dakota Highway Patrol. “It is important that the Highway Patrol celebrate this important milestone with the recruits and their families because the recruits worked hard to get here.”

Class 64 recruits and their duty stations are: Josh Albright, Aberdeen; Megan Bultsma, Platte; Brextyn Burnette, Canton; Ryan Fechner, Parker; Blend Fetahi, Pierre; Shelby Hattum, Presho; Alex Hemann, Beresford; Kyle Knievel, Wall; Ryan Needham, Belle Fourche; Cameron Refsland, Redfield; and, Maria Waldner, Webster.

Following the ceremony, the new troopers will receive their Highway Patrol vehicles and report to their duty stations.

The Highway Patrol is part of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.