South Dakota DPS announces May sobriety checkpoint counties

April 29, 2022

PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety plans statewide sobriety checkpoints in 14 counties during May.

The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people not to drink and drive. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

May checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Beadle, Brown, Butte, Charles Mix, Codington, Jones, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lyman, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, and Yankton.

Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.