March 3, 2021

PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT) rolled out South Dakota’s first ever Name the Snowplow Contest in mid-January.

When the contest ended on Jan. 31, over 800 entries had been submitted by individuals, families, elementary classrooms, senior living centers, and businesses across the state.
DOT staff then voted on the submissions. The 12 winners will soon officially meet and take photos with their locally named snowplow.

The winning names are:

SDDOT Area:        Snowplow Name:       Submitted by:

Aberdeen Area:   “Darth Blader”    Dave Bacon (Aberdeen)

Belle Fourche Area:   “Art”       Family and Friends of Art DeKnikker

Custer Area:  “Mt. Plowmor”       Landon Harrod (Edgemont)

Huron Area:   “Snow Mater”        Jim Bruce (Highmore)

Mitchell Area:   “Blizzard Wizard”        Cordell Davis (Plankinton)

Mobridge Area:   “Winter Warrior”       Marion Goehring (Herreid)

Pierre Area:   “Lewis & Clark”       Jackie Heier (Pierre)

Rapid City Area:   “Polar Patroller”      Tiffany Hoff (Rapid)

Sioux Falls Area:   “SnowBeGone Kenobi”      Shawn Hanson (Sioux Falls)

Watertown Area:   “Thaw Enforcement”       Robert Innes (Aurora)

Winner Area:   “Walter the Salter”       Dairy Queen Staff (Winner)

Yankton Area   “Frosty the Snowplow”      Lilly Kroger (Beresford)