Sheehan honored as Coach of the Year

(News Release) — The South Dakota Football Coaches Association will be honoring award recipients during halftime of each game during State Championship Game held at the USD DakotaDome, November 12-14, 2020. The awards will be presented by Kent VanOverschelde, President of the South Dakota Football Coaches Association; recipients are as follows:

2020 Region Coaches of the Year:
Region 1 Coach of the Year – Brian Hogie, Ipswich/Edmunds Central
Region 2 Coach of the Year – Jeff Sheehan, Hamlin
Region 3 Coach of the Year – Paul Goehring, Mobridge-Pollock
Region 4 Coach of the Year – Josh Anderson, Lemmon/McIntosh
Region 5 Coach of the Year – Rob Kessler, Viborg-Hurley
Region 6 Coach of the Year – Craig Clayberg, Tea Area
Region 7 Coach of the Year – Brady Muth, Yankton
Region 8 Coach of the Year – Chad Eisenbraun, Kadoka Area

SDFBCA State Friend of Football – given each year to an individual who has gone above and beyond in their support and service to high school football in the state of South Dakota.

Recipient – Tom Long – Garretson, Past-President of the South Dakota Football Coaches Association

30 Year Award (11) – Scott Hausmann – Tri-Valley, Wayne Sullivan – RC St. Thomas More, Ken Vigdal – Sioux Valley, Kevin Morehart – Winner, Dan Snethen – Tri-Valley, Rich Stephens – South Central , Mark Acheson – Tri-Valley, Scott Frey – Tea Area, Kevin Ham – Douglas, Dan Stone – Dell Rapids, Craig Jorgenson – Dell Rapids

50 Year Award – Tom Long – Garretson

2020 SDFBCA Hall of Fame – Mel Fathke – Avon, Dale Taylor – Kimball/White Lake, Lenny Schroeder – Canastota/Freeman

2019 Assistant Coaches of the Year:
11AAA – Mike Leach – Roosevelt
11AA – Pat Larson-Mitchell
11A – Dane Stone – Dell Rapids
11B – Trent Olson – Winner
9AA – Jason Mellegard – Viborg/Hurley
9A – Tom Serr – Burke
9B – Jamie McClain – Sunshine Bible Academy
8th grade and Under – Frank Cutler- Platte/Geddes
All Nations – Arthur Brown – Lower Brule