SIOUX FALLS, S.D. ( — South Dakota State’s Maggie Smither, Leah Manuleleua and Maya Hansen headlined seven 2019 All-Summit League Jackrabbit selections. Smither was named the Goalkeeper of the Year for the third consecutive season while Manuleleua and Hansen were announced as Offensive Player and Freshman of the Year, respectively.

Announced Wednesday at the Summit League Women’s Soccer Championship, presented by U.S. Air Force Special Forces, banquet, Smither and Manuleleua joined Darien Poelstra and Kaitlin Zabel as first team selections. Hansen, Karlee Manding and Gabby Vivier-Hannay were picked to the second team, and Hansen added all-freshman team honors as well.

Smither has been a rock between the pipes all season long, logging a nation-leading 13 shutouts with 87 saves. The Sioux Falls native has played 1,613:58 minutes at goalkeeper and has a 0.39 goals against average (currently second-best at SDSU). Her .925 saves percentage is also third nationally. Smither, who was named the league’s defensive player of the week three times in 2019, is a three-time All-Summit League First Team pick for her career and also earned the league’s top keeper award in 2017 and 2018.

Manuleleua is tied for first in league points (24), finding the net 10 times to go with four assists. From Manteca, California, she set a new league record (and sits third in NCAA Division I) with seven game-winners. The senior has fired 28 shots on target and boasts a 0.53 goals per game mark. She was a two-time league offensive weekly award winner in 2019. This is Manuleleua’s third all-league honor. She was a first team selection in 2017 and a second team pick a year ago.

Maya Hansen exploded onto the scene when Summit League play began, scoring four of her seven total goals against league competition. The Savage, Minnesota forward is sixth in the Summit League in goals and seventh in points (16). Hansen put together a run of four consecutive games with a goal (Sept. 20 to Oct. 6), and sits second on the team with 22 shots on goal. Hansen is the second Jackrabbit to be named Freshman of the Year, joining Diana Potterveld (2012).

Poelstra has started every game and played a position-best 1,497 minutes this season, logging time mainly as the team’s central defensive midfielder. The Sioux Falls native has been a key component to SDSU’s 14 team shutouts (including a run of 12 consecutive) and has posted five complete-game performances. This is Poelstra’s first-career all-league honor.

Kaitlin Zabel is second on the team in minutes (1,621) in a back line that has surrendered only seven goals in 2019. Zabel played all but 19 available minutes this season (missing one game due to injury) and has 18 complete-game performances. The Lakeville, Minnesota defender has been a part of 13 shutouts and serves as the team’s outside back. Zabel was also named to the league’s all-freshman team in 2017.

Karlee Manding sits third on the team in points entering the league championship, finding the net three times alongside a pair of assists. The sophomore midfielder has started 17 games and logged over 1,100 minutes in the field, placing 40 percent of her shots on target. The Waipahu, Hawaii native has game-winners over Utah State and Northern Iowa. Manding is a two-time all-league honoree, earning all-freshman team honors a year ago.

Gabby Vivier-Hannay has logged the third-most minutes among Jackrabbits this season (1,617) and been a part of 13 shutouts, playing all but 24 available minutes in every game she’s appeared in. The Winnipeg, Manitoba defender has seen the team allow a league-low seven goals in 2019 and post a 0.36 goals against average. Vivier-Hannay is a first team all-league pick.

State now has 39 All-Summit League First Team, 26 Second Team and 20 All-Freshman/Newcomer Team members since joining the league in 2007.

The Jackrabbits open their Summit League Championships, presented by U.S. Air Force Special Warfare Thursday evening at home. SDSU is the No. 2 seed and will take on No. 3 seed Oral Roberts at 6 p.m. in a semifinal bout from Fishback Soccer Park.

Offensive Player of the Year
Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year
Cheyenne Shorts, Denver

Goalkeeper of the Year
Maggie Smither, South Dakota State

Freshman of the Year
Maya Hansen, South Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Jeff Hooker, Denver

All-Summit League First Team
Hannah Adler, Denver, MF
Natalie Beckman, Denver, F
Sami Feller, Denver, MF
Elyse Huber, North Dakota State, F
Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State, F
Taylor Parker, Denver, D
Darien Poelstra, South Dakota State, MF
Cheyenne Shorts, Denver, D
Maggie Smither, South Dakota State, GK
Kellee Willer, South Dakota, F
Kaitlin Zabel, South Dakota State, D

All-Summit League Second Team
Maya Hansen, South Dakota State, F
Jordan Langebartels, Oral Roberts, F
Margaret LaVigne, Omaha, D
Camryn MacMillian, Denver, F
Karlee Manding, South Dakota State, MF
Alexis Mitchell, South Dakota, MF
Abby Ostrem, South Dakota, D
Drishana Pillay, Oral Roberts, MF
Monica Polgar, North Dakota State, GK
Gabby Vivier-Hannay, South Dakota State, D
Brittany Wilson, Denver, GK

Summit League All-Freshman Team
Gabrielle Abbey, Oral Roberts, D
Allison Austin, Oral Roberts, GK
Lavin Douglass, North Dakota State, MF
Hannah Gallegos, Denver, D
Kaitlyn Glover, Denver, MF
Maya Hansen, South Dakota State, F
Lynette Hawkins, Western Illinois, D
Mia Ketterman, Oral Roberts, F
Bailey McNitt, North Dakota, F
McKenna Strand, North Dakota State, D
Lexie Wood, South Dakota, MF