SDHP graduating nine new recruits Friday

February 16, 2022

PIERRE, S.D. – Nine South Dakota Highway Patrol trooper recruits officially graduate this Friday during a ceremony in the State Capitol Rotunda.

Graduation ceremonies for Class 66 start at 10 a.m. Gov. Kristi Noem is the keynote speaker. The ceremony will be livestreamed on the Highway Patrol’s Facebook page.

“In South Dakota, we respect law enforcement for all that they do to keep us and our families safe,” said Gov. Noem. “These new graduates will join a long line of state troopers who put their lives on the line every day for communities across South Dakota.”

Class 66 recruits and their duty stations are:

*** Matthew Cooke, Rapid City

*** Elyse Helkenn, Rapid City

*** Matt Henry, Yankton

*** Mitchell Lang, Chamberlain

*** Oswaldo Padron, Vermillion

*** Michael Peterson, Sisseton

*** Jeremy Schuelke, Rapid City

*** Kaleb Siferd, Rapid City

*** Jacob Whitaker, Winner

“These nine recruits have spent the last year training to be Highway Patrol troopers and this ceremony is a celebration of that accomplishment,” said Col. Rick Miller, superintendent of the Highway Patrol. “They all have shown a great desire to serve and protect the public.”

The recruits will receive their Highway Patrol vehicles Friday and report to their duty stations after the ceremony.