NSAA volleyball and basketball tournament will not be held in Watertown

WATERTOWN, SD, (News Release) — The Watertown Convention & Visitors Bureau (CVB) has announced that the 2021 North Star Athletic Association (NSAA) Basketball and Volleyball championship tournaments will not be held in Watertown as previously scheduled.

Watertown CVB’s Executive Director Julie Knutson said she learned of the changes last week. “The North Star Athletic Association Board of Athletic Directors and Council of Presidents voted to host the 2020-21 academic year championships on association college campuses rather than congregate in a single location (Watertown, SD).”

“The ongoing Covid-19 pandemic has forced the league to make this difficult decision. The North Star Athletic Association has sincerely enjoyed having the championship tournaments in Watertown and we anticipate their return to the City of Watertown during the 2021-22 academic year,” said Roger Ternes Commissioner of the NSAA.

Initial conversations between the Convention & Visitors Bureau and the NSAA Interim Commissioner have been frequent and ongoing and resulted in rescheduling of the Super 6 Volleyball Championship which was to be held in November 12 – 14, 2020. However, due to the pandemic, it was rescheduled for April 9-10, 2021.

NSAA transitioned as Commissioner Roger Ternes onboarded and as the pandemic continued. “The writing was on the wall as COVID-19 numbers continued to grow quickly. Basketball and volleyball can be played anywhere.” said Knutson. “The experience and hospitality is why they chose Watertown, and that came from every corner of our community. Watertown has embraced the NSAA and provided them with an unforgettable experience.”

Knutson said the CVB’s top priority right now is to provide a safe destination for groups and events in today’s uncertain climate. “I am confident the NSAA will be back, and we will be here and ready to roll out the red carpet.”

The NSAA is a division of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletes (NAIA), that include Dickinson State University in Dickenson, ND, Viterbo University in Lacrosse, WI, Valley City State University in Valley City, ND, Bellevue University in Bellevue, NE, Dakota State University in Madison, SD, Presentation College in Aberdeen, SD, Waldorf University in Forest City, IA, and Mayville State, in Mayville, ND.