Mount Marty University Watertown celebrates 2021-22 Academic Excellence Scholarship recipients

December 17, 2021

WATERTOWN, S.D.–Mount Marty University’s Watertown location celebrated the 2021-22 Academic Excellence Scholarship recipients last week. This year, the scholarship was awarded to 15 students.

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must have completed 32 credits, have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and be enrolled in at least six credits to be considered for this award. The Academic Excellence Scholarship Fund was founded to support students as they pursue the programs offered at the Mount Marty University (MMU) Watertown location.

The 2021-22 Academic Excellence Scholars are: Maria Anderson, Mari Athey, Lacie Finck, Ashley Hohn, Corey Janisch, Kendyl Lyon, Hunter Moore, Ryan Nelson, Randi Ries, Sabrina Schram, Sierra Tvinnereim, Cindy Warkenthien, Laryn Warkenthien, Abby Weiss and Tess Wilke.

“We are grateful for the continued support from donors, David and Jan Johnson, as well as faculty and staff. This scholarship fund has allowed us to recognize students at the Watertown location for their hard work and invest in their potential,” said Kim Bellum, Director, Mount Marty University Watertown. “Dave and Jan have always been incredible supporters of MMU! They know the value of a post-secondary education and continue to pay it forward for so many. We are so blessed with their generosity.”

On Tuesday, December 7, staff and faculty hosted a meal and celebration for the scholars. “Some of these folks hadn’t had a class together, so it was fun to introduce them to each other. The upcoming graduates shared some advice with their fellow classmates during our gathering,” said Heidi Schooley, Associate Director of Admissions, Mount Marty University Watertown.