Lake Area Technical Institute will take on a new name this summer

February 26, 2020
Mike Tanner

PIERRE, S.D. – It’s now official. Lake Area Technical Institute will change its name to Lake Area Technical College this summer.

It comes after Governor Kristi Noem signed House Bill 1083 at a ceremony Tuesday (pictured).

It changes the names of all four post-secondary technical institutes in South Dakota to technical colleges.

Noem says the name change will, “reflect the excellence demonstrated by our schools.”

The prime sponsors of the bill were Representative Hugh Bartels of Watertown and Senator Jim White of Huron.

The name change goes into effect on July 1 for technical schools in Watertown, Mitchell, Sioux Falls, and Rapid City.