It’s Primary Election Day in South Dakota!

June 7, 2022
Mike Tanner

WATERTOWN, S.D.–Today is Primary Election Day in South Dakota.

Most of the contested primary races in the state involve Republican candidates looking to be re-elected.

At the top of the ticket, U.S. Senator John Thune faces two challengers today. Congressman Dusty Johnson faces a primary opponent in state legislator Taffy Howard of Rapid City.

In today’s governor’s primary, Republican Kristi Noem is being challenged by state lawmaker Steven Haugaard of Sioux Falls. The winner faces Democrat Jamie Smith of Sioux Falls in November.

Locally, there’s a Republican primary race in South Dakota Senate District 5, where incumbent Lee Schoenbeck is being challenged by Watertown City Councilman Colin Paulsen.

Four Republicans are running for a seat in State House District 4. They are Val Rausch, Steph Sauder, Adam Grimm and incumbent Fred Deutsch. The top two finishers from among that group of four advance to the November general election.

There’s a primary race today for a seat on the Codington County Commission. Incumbent Lee Gabel is being challenged by Kerry Jorgenson, with the winner facing Democrat candidate Raymond Johnson in November.

All South Dakota voters today will also make their choice known on Amendment C, which would require a 60% threshold on citizen-initiated ballot measures that raise taxes or spend more than $10 million dollars within five years of enactment.

Polls are open from 7 am to 7 pm local time today.