Halverson, Hoglund and Peterson named to SD Golf Hall of Fame

[email protected]

(Press release) — The South Dakota High School Golf Coaches Association have announced three selections for the 2022 Hall of Fame

Richard Halverson coach from Clear Lake and Deuel boys and girls coaches from 1977 through 1998. Halverson founded the school golf program in Clear Lake in 1977 and lead the Cardinals to two state championships in 1986 and 1987. Halverson is also the founder of the Clear Lake Golf Course Junior program in 1980.

Hamlin graduate Mick Hoglund who lead Dell Rapids to State Class B Championships, 2000 and 2001 and Class A championships in 2011, 2013 and 2014. Hoglund is a member of both the South Dakota Amateur Baseball Hall of Fame and the South Dakota Amateur Basketball Hall of Fame.

The founder of the golf program at De Smet, Ron Peterson. Peterson coached both girls and boys Bulldog teams for a total of 22 years. Peterson also founded and coached the wrestling program at De Smet in 1974 and coached football and baseball.

Award presentation for all three men will be held before the players’ award ceremony concluding the SDHSAA’s Girls State A Golf Tournament June 7th at Bakker Crossing’s Golf Course in Sioux Falls.