Gov. Noem shuts down state government offices in advance of ice storm, blizzard

March 31, 2023

PIERRE, S.D. – Governor Kristi Noem has ordered state government executive branch offices in certain counties to be closed today (Friday) because of the winter storms in South Dakota.

Freezing rain, snow, and high winds will occur across much of the state.

State offices are closed all day Friday in the following counties: Brown, Buffalo, Campbell, Clark, Codington, Corson, Day, Deuel, Dewey, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jones, Lyman, Marshall, McPherson, Potter, Roberts, Spink, Stanley, Sully, and Walworth Counties. These counties will be in either blizzard warnings or ice storm warnings throughout the day starting in the early morning hours on Friday.

While executive branch offices in these counties will be closed, state employees will be working remotely.