GBB: Benike, Kranz, Buchholz and Wohlleber named to Class B All-State

Photo: Getty Images

Brent Nathaniel

WATERTOWN, S.D. ( — Alayna Benike, Emily Kranz, Zoey Wohlleber and Kennadi Buchholz have been selected to the 2021 Girls Class B All-State team as chosen by the South Dakota High School Basketball Coaches Association.

Benike, a senior from Castlewood was named to the first team, averaged 19.4 points per game, would shoot 43 percent from the field and 46 percent from beyond the arc this season.  The Warriors season ended in the Class B state championship game and ended the season with a record of 22-1.

Kranz, a senior from Waverly-South Shore was also named to the first team, average 19.2 point per game, shot 60 percent from the field, and averaged 11 boards.  Castlewood would take home a sixth place trophy at the State B Tournament and ended their year with a record of 17-6.

Wohlleber was named to the second team.  The junior from Waubay/Summit averaged 23 points per game, shot 49 percent from the field and 87 percent from the charity stripe.  The Mustangs season ended in the Region 1B Sodak 16 qualifying game and amassed a record of 14-6.

Buchholz, a junior from DeSmet, was named to the third team.  Buchholz would average 18.5 points per game, shoot 51 percent from the field and averaged 10 boards per game this season. The Bulldogs season came to a close with a record of 10-12 after falling the Region 3B SoDak 16 qualifying game.

First Team
Caelyn Valandra-Prue Sr. White River
Alayna Benike Sr. Castlewood
Morgan Edelman Sr. Menno
Avery Broughton Soph. Corsica-Stickney
Emily Kranz Sr. Waverly-South Shore
Halle Heinz Sr. Ipswich

Second Team
Maleighya Estes Jr. White River
Zoey Wohlleber Jr. Waubay-Summit
Rachel Fiedler Sr. Herreid – Selby Area
Grace Fryda Sr. Scotland
Sydney Voss Sr. Viborg – Hurley
Hannah Bartscher Jr. Ethan

Third Team
Kennadi Buchholz Jr. Desmet
Kennedy Leiferman Sr. Kimball – White Lake
Raven Barse Sr. Corsica – Stickney
Tally Katus Sr. Lemmon
Haley Meyer Sr. Centerville
Jadyn Jensen Soph. Jones County

2021 Class B Girls Player of The Year:
Caelyn Valandra-Prue Sr. White River