Fifteen South Dakota counties to hold sobriety checkpoints in June

June 1, 2022

PIERRE, S.D. – Sobriety checkpoints are planned for 15 South Dakota counties during the month of June.

The 20 total checkpoints are designed to encourage people not to drink and drive. The monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

June checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Brookings, Clay, Codington, Davidson, Day, Edmunds, Jackson, Jerauld, Lawrence, Lincoln, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Spink, and Walworth.