Entz named AFCA FCS Coach of the Year

SAN ANTONIO (GoBison.com) — The American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) presented its top coaching award — AFCA FCS National Coach of the Year to North Dakota State Coach Matt Entz.

Entz earned his second FCS National Coach of the Year honor in his third year as a head coach by leading North Dakota State to 14-1 record, the Missouri Valley Football Conference title and the program’s ninth FCS national championship.

North Dakota State has won eight AFCA National Coach of the Year awards, the second-most among any program.

Entz joins Bowie State’s Damon Wilson (Division II), Central (Iowa) College’s Jeff McMartin (Division III) and Morningside’s Steve Ryan (NAIA) are the 2021 AFCA National Coach of the Year winners as selected by a vote of active AFCA members at four-year schools in FCS, Division II, Division III and the NAIA.