UPDATE: Election race for Henry City Council ends in tie

April 13, 2022
Mike Tanner

WATERTOWN, S.D.–Tuesday was Election Day in some cities and towns in South Dakota, and there were just a few races to report in our area, one of which ended in a tie.

In the three-way race for a city council seat in Henry, the top two finishers, Hanna Owen and Charles Heustess tied with 34 votes apiece.

Henry Finance Officer Shelly Fuller tells KWAT News when the results are certified and if a tie remains,and neither candidate asks for a recount, the winner will be determined by a drawing of lots at a date and time to be determined by her. 

In Willow Lake, Finance Officer Heidi Madsen says unofficial results show Delwin Bratland was re-elected mayor, defeating challenger Lane Wirtjes (56-18). Also in Willow Lake incumbent Steven Johnson was re-elected to a city council seat, defeating Laura Heinle (20-15).

In Garden City, Marilyn Foster was the winner of a council seat, defeating Laina Strohfus (15-8).

In Sioux Falls, Mayor Paul TenHaken easily won re-election, claiming 73% of the vote.

Just two votes separated two Castlewood City Council candidates Tuesday. Stef Goldhorn defeated Cory Akin in that race (26-24).

In the Hayti Town Board Race, Greg Biederstedt led the field with 74 votes, three more than Doug Weelborg.

In the Estelline School Board race, Chris Verhoek gained the most votes of the three that were on the ballot.