Dodgers are World Series champs for the first time since 1988

ARLINGTON, Texas (AP) – The Los Angeles Dodgers are World Series champs for the first time since 1988 following a 3-1 win over the Tampa Bay Rays in Game 6. Mookie Betts scored the tiebreaking run on a fielder’s choice in the sixth, two innings before belting a solo homer. The Dodgers’ bullpen allowed just two hits after starter Tony Gonsolin (GAHN’-sah-lihn) was pulled with two out in the second inning.

Corey Seager is the first Dodger to be named MVP of the World Series since Orel Hershiser in 1988. Seager drove in the tiebreaking run in Game 6 and finished the series with a .400 average, two homers, six RBIs and six walks. He took MVP honors over Clayton Kershaw, who was 2-0 with a 2.31 ERA against the Rays.

Dodgers star Justin Turner was removed following the seventh inning in Game 6 after registering Major League Baseball’s first positive test for the coronavirus in 59 days. And he wasn’t on the field as the Dodgers began enjoying the spoils of a title earned during a most unusual season. Turner returned to the diamond about an hour after the game, hugging longtime teammate Clayton Kershaw and sitting front-and-center for a team photo next to manager Dave Roberts with his mask pulled down under his bushy beard.