City of Watertown announces recipients of 2020 Employee Recognition Awards

May 20, 2021

WATERTOWN, S.D.–The City of Watertown is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 City of Watertown

Employee Recognition Awards:

2020 Employee of the Year: Jenny Elbert, Parks, Recreation & Forestry Department,
Prairie Lakes Wellness Center who was honored for service to others and dedication to the

2020 Rookie of the Year: Marci Lewno, Public Works Department, Engineering Division as
an employee who has served the City less than three years, but has already made significant

2020 Mentor Award: Angie Schaefer, 911 Center, Police Department for providing
encouragement and support to others, helping them reach their potential.

2020 Caregiver Award: Steve Rehorst, Police Department, for going beyond the call of duty
to care for those less fortunate.

2020 Creativity Award: Fire Department as a unit, for thinking outside the box to find
creative solutions to challenges.

2020 One-In-A-Million Award: Josh Volkart, Library, for overcoming challenges and
hardship to provide exceptional service with limited resources.

The award winners were recognized by surprise visits from the Awards Committee in April. A
video of the visits was recorded and shared online.

All City of Watertown employees and City Council members were acknowledged with a thank-
you swag packet including small gifts. Those staff who retired in 2020 and personnel who

Achieved 5, 10, 15, 20, and 25 years of service milestones received additional acknowledgement.