Campaign season for Watertown City Council, School Board candidates begins today

April 11, 2023
Mike Tanner

WATERTOWN, S.D.–Campaign season begins in Watertown today.

Watertown’s municipal elections are Tuesday June 20th. It’s a combined election with the Watertown School District.

Three city council seats are open this election cycle. They’re the seats currently held by Colin Paulsen, Dan Schutte and Glen Vilhauer.

Paulsen and Schutte have announced they’re running again. Vilhauer is not.

For the Watertown School Board election, one, three year term is up this year. That seat belongs to Board President Tammy Rieber, and she has publicly indicated that she intends to run again.

Candidates can begin collecting petition signatures today, and have to turn in the qualifying number by May 12th in order to ensure their place on the ballot.