BREAKING: Watertown voters elect Holien mayor; Paulsen, Schutte, Tupper knock off incumbents for council seat victories

June 15, 2021

Mike Tanner

WATERTOWN, S.D.–Watertown voters spoke loud and clear at the polls Tuesday, and their message was clear. They want change, and they’re going to get it.

Ried Holien cruised to an easy win in the mayor’s race, defeating incumbent Sarah Caron 3,010-1,237.

Holien currently serves as city council vice chair, and is a former State Senator.

In the city council races:

Ward A Council Mike Danforth 774
                               Kay Solberg 398
Ward B Council Colin Paulsen 459
                              Jason Redemske 423
Ward C Council Dan Schutte 220
                              Michael Heuer 184
At Large Council Randy Tupper 2,015
                                Josh Weyh 1,923
School Board (two elected) Jon Iverson 2.930
                          Kari Lohr 1,781
                          Stephan Tjaden 1,070
Much more election coverage along with comments from the candidates Tuesday morning with KWAT’s Mike Tanner