BBB: Two Bulldogs earn Class B All-State honors

PHOTO: Getty Images

Brent Nathaniel

WATERTOWN, S.D. ( — Two De Smet Bulldogs have been named to the 2021 Class B All-State Basketball Team.  Players are chosen by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association.

Junior Kalen Garry earned first team selections.  Garry averaged 23 points, seven boards and dished three assists per game.  He was a force not only on offense but defense too with 23 steals this season to go with ten blocks.

Rett Osthus was selected to the second team.  In his junior season, Osthus would shoot 45 percent from the field, and 49 percent from the line.  In addition, he would notch 32 steals and 15 block on the D side of the ball.

De Smet concluded their 2020-2021 campaign with a record of 25-1 and a Class B state championship.

First Team
Kalen Garry, Junior, De Smet
Connor Libis, Senior, Dell Rapids St Mary
Joe Sayler, Sophomore, White River
Tyce Ortman, Senior, Canistota
Gradee Sherman, Senior, Viborg-Hurley
Sam Aslesen, Senior, Howard

Second Team
Rett Osthus, Junior, De Smet
Tisyn Spader, Senior, Howard
Matthew Nibbe, Senior, Elkton-Lake Benton
Chase Merrill, Senior, Canistota
Kelby VanDerWerff, Senior, Platt-Geddes
Malek Wieker, Sophomore, Aberdeen Christian

Third Team
Brendan Wentland, Senior, Corsica-Stickeny
Brent Ekanger, Senior, Aberdeen Christian
Jacob Messmer, Senior, Wessington Springs
Caden Foxley, Junior, Platte-Geddes
Grant Luikens, Junior, Potter County
Daniel Mitchell, Freshman, Gregory