Arrow wrestlers take Region 1A crown

BROOKINGS, S.D. ( — The Watertown Arrow wrestlers crowned six individual champions inroute to a 2020 Region 1A Championship on Saturday.

The Arrows would score 239.5 to take home the team title. 

Ty Althoff (132) Jaxson Waugh (138) Peyton Johnston (145) Sam Stroup (170) Jayden Hartford (182) and Lincoln Stahl (220) would take home individual championships.

Weston Everson (106) and Conner Wirtjes (195) would each take home second place finishes.

Next up for the Arrows is the 2020 South Dakota State Wrestling Tournament February 27-29th at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls.

(Brent Nathaniel, Watertown Radio Sports)

106 1st Place Match
Quincy Hulverson (Tea Area) 41-3, So. over Weston Everson (Watertown) 27-18, Fr. (Fall 1:38)

113 3rd Place Match
Wyatt Stuntebeck (Tea Area) 36-7, Fr. over Connor Hanson (Watertown) 24-15, So. (Dec 7-0)

120 3rd Place Match
Connor Eimers (Tea Area) 36-10, So. over Carson Hansmann (Watertown) 26-18, So. (Dec 6-4)

126 5th Place Match
Cael Sutton (Watertown) 8-19, Sr. over Hunter Wilson (Tea Area) 13-27, Fr. (Fall 2:19

132 1st Place Match
Ty Althoff (Watertown) 38-1, Sr. over Beau Beavers (O`Gorman) 37-5, Jr. (Dec 5-4)

138 1st Place Match
Jaxson Waugh (Watertown) 36-6, Sr. over Aaron Ideker (O`Gorman) 38-8, Sr. (Dec 10-7)

145 1st Place Match
Peyton Johnston (Watertown) 32-7, Sr. over Robby Edberg (West Central) 24-20, Jr. (TF-1.5 3:47 (16-0))

152 3rd Place Match
Mac Young (Watertown) 34-9, So. over Jaxon Bowes (Brookings) 31-12, So. (Dec 4-3)

160 3rd Place Match
Lexan Thorson (Watertown) 32-10, Jr. over Jordan Dahl (O`Gorman) 28-21, Sr. (Dec 5-0)

170 1st Place Match
Sam Stroup (Watertown) 33-8, Sr. over Gage Carr (Dell Rapids) 31-13, Sr. (MD 13-5)

182 1st Place Match
Jayden Hartford (Watertown) 36-2, Sr. over Luke Rasmussen (Brookings) 24-4, So. (Dec 6-5)

195 1st Place Match
JT Panning (Tea Area) 33-7, Sr. over Connor Wirtjes (Watertown) 28-14, Jr. (Fall 1:56)

220 1st Place Match
Lincoln Stahl (Watertown) 30-10, Sr. over Mitchell Klinkenborg (Dell Rapids) 12-11, Jr. (Fall 1:34)