American Association to begin play July 3rd

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) – Major League Baseball and the affiliated minor leagues are shut down but an independent circuit is set to open on July 3 with some fans in the seats.

The American Association says six teams will play in three hubs due to the new coronavirus. The Sioux Falls Canaries will host St. Paul Saints at Sioux Falls Stadium. Manitoba’s Winnipeg Goldeyes will be based at Newman Outdoor Field with North Dakota’s Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks. The Chicago Dogs will play home games at the Ballpark Commons with the Milwaukee Milkmen.